Brown CS News

Archive – May 2020

Michael Littman And Ellie Pavlick Receive Named Professorships


Brown University's Department of Computer Science (Brown CS) is pleased to announce that two of its faculty members received named chairs at the May, 2020 meeting of the Corporation of Brown University. Michael Littman is now the Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence in Computer Science and Ellie Pavlick is now the Manning …

Seventeen Students Win Brown CS Senior Prizes


Brown CS has just announced that it will recognize 17 graduating seniors for their achievements this year. Evan Cater, Min Jean Cho, Tyler DeFroscia, Megan Gessner, Brad Guesman, Samuel Hinthorn, Shawna Huang, Brendan Le, Joshua Levin, Zhengyi Peng, Heila Precel, Lena Renshaw, Shoshana Simons, Henry Stone, Andrew Wagner, and Solomon Zitter will each …

Eleanor Avril Wins The Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award


Brown University's Department of Computer Science has just announced that Eleanor Avril, a Brown CS student and one of the four Meta-TAs who coordinate the Undergraduate Teaching Assistant program, has just won the Norman K. Meyrowitz '81 Award. Named for an alum known for his contributions to the department, the award recognizes …

Lorenzo De Stefani Returns To Brown CS As Lecturer


Lorenzo De Stefani is the most recent hire in the multi-year CS With Impact campaign, the largest expansion in Brown CS history. One of the most fortunate things in his early life, he tells us, was the strong relationship that his father, an electrical engineer, had with his former university …