Distinguished Lecture: Jennifer Rexford

<div class="diytube-video-message"><p> Video is unavailable<br /> Transcoding status: <span class="diytube-status">Video does not exist</span> </p></div>

2018 Talks
Ani Kristo
Sept. 26, 2018, 5:57 p.m.

"Hitting the Nail on the Head: Interdisciplinary Research in Computer Networking"

This is an exciting time in computer networking. The Internet is one
of the most influential inventions of all time--a research experiment
that, within our own lifetimes, escaped from the lab to become a
global communications infrastructure. We see seemingly non-stop
innovation in compelling services delivered over the Internet,
end-host devices connected to the Internet, and communication media
underlying the Internet, constantly giving our networks new challenges
to address. In turn, computer networks arise in increasingly diverse
settings, including data-center networks, cellular networks, vehicular
networks, ad hoc networks, overlay networks, and more. Designing and
operating computer networks that offer good performance, reliability,
security, and more lead to a wealth of fascinating and important
research problems---"nails" in search of a good hammer. Yet, to
*solve* these big, hairy problems we often need to look beyond the
field of computer networking to other established
disciplines---sources of good "hammers". In this talk, I share my
experiences conducting interdisciplinary research in computer
networking, through example collaborative projects with great
colleagues and a few hard-won lessons along the way.

Jennifer Rexford is the Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor of Engineering and
the Chair of Computer Science at Princeton University. Before joining
Princeton in 2005, she worked for eight years at AT&T Labs--Research.
Jennifer received her BSE degree in electrical engineering from
Princeton University in 1991, and her PhD degree in electrical
engineering and computer science from the University of Michigan in
1996. She is co-author of the book "Web Protocols and Practice"
(Addison-Wesley, May 2001). She served as the chair of ACM SIGCOMM
from 2003 to 2007. Jennifer was the 2004 winner of ACM's Grace Murray
Hopper Award for outstanding young computer professional, the ACM
Athena Lecturer Award (2016), the NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research
and Graduate Mentoring Award (2017), and the ACM SIGCOMM award for
lifetime contributions (2018). She is an ACM Fellow (2008), an IEEE
Fellow (2018), and a member of the American Academy of Arts and
Sciences (2013) and the National Academy of Engineering (2014).

Host: Professor Shriram Krishnamurthi