Brown CS News

John Savage Honored with Named Professorship

    The department is thrilled to announce that John Savage has been appointed An Wang Professor of Computer Science, effective July 1, 2011. “Throughout his distinguished career, John has made fundamental contributions to theoretical computer science and has played influential leadership roles in the department and the university,” said Department Chair Roberto Tamassia.

    John’s work over several decades has had a profound and broad impact on multiple fields within computer science and engineering, including complexity theory, computational nanotechnology, information theory, and VLSI design, analysis and synthesis. His current research interests include cybersecurity, computational nanotechnology, computer architecture, and coded computation. His work has been recognized by his selection as a Guggenheim Fellow, a Fellow of the AAAS and ACM, a Life Fellow of IEEE, a Jefferson Science Fellow, and a Fulbright-Hays Research Awardee. After earning his PhD in electrical engineering at MIT and working at Bell Laboratories for two years, John joined the faculty of the Division of Engineering at Brown in 1967. In 1979 he co-founded the Department of Computer Science and served as its second chair from 1985 to 1991. His many contributions to university and departmental affairs include founding the Computer Science Industrial Partners Program and extensive service to the University, including as Chair of the Faculty and of the Task Force on Faculty Governance. The latter service has been recognized by the President’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Governance.

    “I am very appreciative of the recognition that this appointment represents for my contributions to Brown and my profession,” said John.

    John joins the department's other named professors: Eugene Charniak, University Professor of Computer Science, Sorin Istrail, Julie Nguyen Brown Professor of Computational and Mathematical Science, Franco Preparata, An Wang Professor of Computer Science, Roberto Tamassia, Plastech Professor of Computer Science and Andy van Dam, Thomas J. Watson Jr. University Professor of Technology and Education.