Brown CS News

Last update on .

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has recognized 34 of its members for their contributions to both the practical and theoretical aspects of computing and information technology. The new ACM Fellows, from some of the world’s leading industries, research labs, and universities made significant advances that are having lasting effects on the lives of citizens throughout the world.

Brown Computer Science garnered two Fellows this year. Professor Maurice Herlihy was recognized for his contributions to distributed and parallel systems and Professor and Department Chair Eli Upfal for his contributions to parallel and stochastic networks.

ACM will formally recognize the new Fellows at its annual Awards Banquet on May 20, 2006, in San Francisco, CA. Additional information about the ACM 2005 Fellows, the awards event, as well as previous ACM Fellows and award winners is available at