Staff

Contact Us

If you have questions, you should post on Campuswire or come to our office hours. As a general rule, use Campuswire rather than email, as that helps us manage communications among the staff. Campuswire allows private posts that will only be seen by the poster and the staff. Of course, if your question is of a personal nature that should only be directed to the instructors or the HTAs, feel free to email us directly. (The syllabus contains more detailed guidelines on who to contact for what.)

Doug is giving the lectures and running the main part of the course. Kathi is handling the advanced track to prepare for CSCI0180 (which she teaches). You are welcome to call them Dr, Professor, or just Doug and Kathi (whatever makes you most comfortable).

Emailing douglas_woos@brown.edu will reach Doug, kathryn_fisler@brown.edu will reach Kathi, cs0111headtas@cs.brown.edu will reach the HTAs, and cs0111tas@cs.brown.edu will reach all of the staff. Please mail the entire TA list only if you aren't able to post on Campuswire.

The Professors

Professor Doug Woos with some ice cream

Doug Woos (dwoos)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: New Haven, VT

What dessert he'd be: Vegan coffee ice cream

I've been at Brown for two years. Before that, I was in graduate school in Seattle; before that, I worked as a computer programmer in New York City. My interests include but are not limited to books, baseball, and the banjo.

Professor Kathi Fisler

Kathi Fisler (kfisler)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Staten Island, NY

What dessert she'd be: An Italian pizzelle

I've been teaching CS for 25 years, after a rocky start in my own CS classes. I love jigsaw puzzles, puns, and cooking (and eating!) vegetarian food from around the world. Ice cream is best with rainbow sprinkles.

The HTAs

HTA Julia Windham

Julia Windham (jwindha1)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Arlington, VA and Palo Alto, CA

What dessert she'd be: A fruit tart

Hi guys! :) I'm a senior studying APMA-CS. I like to bake, hike, and visit friends. Ask me about mental health (& research in it), food systems, or study abroad.

HTA Giselle Garcia with a box of cookies

Giselle Garcia (ggarci14)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

What dessert she'd be: Chocolate chip cookie

Hi there! I'm a senior concentrating in CS. When I'm not studying Japanese, I love baking and listening to musical soundtracks! If anyone has any chocolate chip cookie recipes they'd like to share, let me know :)

HTA Colton Rusch eating a cookie

Colton Rusch (crusch)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Tewksbury, MA

What dessert he'd be: A broiled chocolate chip cookie

Hey! I'm a sophomore studying CS and Music. I love making stuff, whether it's a web app, an album, or someone else's day.

HTA Monica Roy

Monica Roy (mroy6)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Cambridge, MA

What dessert she'd be: Chocolate lava cake

Hello everyone! I'm a junior concentrating in CS. In my free time I enjoy learning new languages! So far I am fluent in English and Spanish, can understand quite a bit of Bengali, and am starting to learn some Korean. I also love cooking (which I've been doing a lot of these past few months), jamming out to music, dancing, singing, enjoying good food!

The UTAs

UTA Ashley Chon

Ashley Chon (achon2)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Dublin, CA

What dessert she'd be: An egg tart!

Hi! My name is Ashley and I’m a sophomore concentrating in Computer Engineering. At Brown, I’m involved in the Society of Women Engineers, EP, and Meiklejohn Leadership. In my free time, I love to bake, hike, and go on picnics!

UTA Annie Cimack

Annie Cimack (acimack)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Mt. Prospect, IL

What dessert she'd be: A tiramisu :)

Hi! I'm a sophomore from a northwestern suburb of Chicago, and fun fact, my legal name is Annie. I took CS17/18 during my freshman year. I had some rough times and felt like I was struggling more than other people, but that's ok! Away from CS, I write for the Brown Noser, play in the band, and I love old movies and music.

UTA Arrington Harper

Arrington Harper (aharper3)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Birmingham, AL

What dessert she'd be: the sahara dessert

I’m a sophomore possibly concentrating in computer science and linguistics. My hobbies include Animal Crossing and long walks on the beach. I'm in Mosaic+. My secret talent is that I can spin a pencil around my thumb.

UTA Alex Ryan and Cherry Garcia ice cream

Alex Ryan (aryan8)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Sammamish, WA

What dessert she'd be: some kind of ice cream

My name is Alex and I'm a junior studying computer science. Outside of class, I love doing escape rooms and solving crosswords with my friends!

UTA Aidan Wang

Aidan Wang (awang91)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Annapolis, MD

What dessert he'd be: Fudge brownie

I’m a history concentrator who had no exposure to computer science or programming prior to taking CS111 as a sophomore. Outside of the classroom, I enjoy playing the piano and Nintendo games, cooking, and running to hatch my Pokemon Go eggs.

UTA Alana White

Alana White (awhite35)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Mechanicsville, MD

What dessert she'd be: Coffee cake blue room muffin

Hi! I'm a sophomore studying CS and Visual Arts. In my free time, I love going on walks, painting, and chilling outside. I'm also a member of the Mosaic+ community. Feel free to ask me about anything!

Daphne Darwish

Daphne Darwish (ddarwish)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: New York City

What dessert she'd be: Salted caramel

Love reading/cooking in my free time, and excited to TA CS111 again this year

Erick Lerena

Erick Lerena (elerena)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Los Angeles, CA

What dessert he'd be: Dark chocolate cookie

Hey! I'm a sophomore from a small place called Los Angeles. I love reading manga, manhwa, and watching anime in my free time. My favorite food would be any classic Mexican dish my Mom makes because no one does it better. I am excited to be your TA this semester!

UTA Ethan Mullen

Ethan Mullen (emullen2)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Atlanta, GA

What dessert he'd be: Macaroon

Hey! I'm a sophomore from Atlanta double concentrating in Computer Science and TAPS. Talk to me about theatre, Grey's Anatomy, or what I miss most about Blueno (rip).

UTA Jacki Wynter

Jacki Wynter (ewynter)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Kingston, Jamaica

What dessert she'd be: sea salt caramel ice cream with rainbow sprinkles (in a cone)

I've lived in Jamaica, Barbados, and now Providence, and the beach is my happy place. I love plants, fractals, colors, sunshine, and any combination thereof.

Deniz Ozturk

Deniz Ozturk (fozturk1)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Istanbul

What dessert he'd be: Banana

I’m a Junior majoring in CS. I was born in MD, and raised in Istanbul.

UTA Grace Lee

Grace Lee (glee73)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Dallas, TX

What dessert she'd be: ube ice cream

Hello! I'm a sophomore thinking of concentrating in CS-Econ. Things I love in no particular order: spicy food, cozy coffee shops, new music, and the time 4 am. Feel free to talk to me about anything and I'm looking forward to being your TA this semester :-))

UTA Giacomo Marino

Giacomo Marino (gmarino2)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Brunswick, ME

What dessert he'd be: Pecan pie

I’m from Brunswick, Maine but have also lived in North Carolina and Massachusetts. I’m a neuroscience concentrator and took my first CS class ever last fall. In my free time I like to run, read, and cook.

UTA Hannah Ngo

Hannah Ngo (hngo3)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Chandler, AZ

What dessert she'd be: Dark chocolate dipped honeycomb

I'm from Arizona, and the first time I seriously did CS was last spring (in CS111)! I'm a Meiklejohn, BDW Mentor, SHAG educator and premed, so feel free to ask me any questions related to those things if you have them. My main passion outside of academics is Gendo Taiko, the Brown/RISD Japanese drumming club. (please ask me about this if you're curious/interested!)

UTA Harshini Venkatachalam

Harshini Venkatachalam (hvenkata)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Tempe, AZ

What dessert she'd be: Cookie dough

Hi, I’m Harshini! I’m studying CS and maybe visual art. I love watching movies, growing plants, and meeting new people.

UTA Isabel Lai with some shaved ice

Isabel Lai (ilai2)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Springfield, MO

What dessert she'd be: Taiwanese shaved ice! Or maybe mint ice cream, or strawberry shortcake...

Hi! I'm a junior concentrating in CS. I love doing crosswords, public speaking, making stickers (including one of Blueno, rip 😔), and learning Turkish! Most of all, I love talking with people and helping students learn cool stuff!! I'm so excited to be your TA :D

UTA Jessie Li

Jessie Li (jli277)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Las Vegas, NV

What dessert she'd be: Cheesecake!

Hi! I'm Jessie, and I'm a sophomore studying APMA-CS. I love listening to music and spending time outdoors! :)

UTA Liyaan Maskati

Liyaan Maskati (lmaskati)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Mumbai, India

What dessert she'd be: Cannoli

Hi, I'm Liyaan! I'm a CS concentrator, although I never even remotely saw myself studying CS until the end of freshman year :) In my free time, you can find me practicing the piano, writing a BDH article, or drinking bubble tea.

UTA Mohamed Ali

Mohamed Ali (mali7)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Salt Lake City, UT

What dessert he'd be: A coffee cake!

I’m a senior concentrating in History and CS-Econ. I love jazz, primary sources, and working code!

UTA Maceo Thompson

Maceo Thompson (mthomp13)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

What dessert he'd be: Tarte Tatin

Hey! My name is Maceo, and I'm from Brooklyn, NY. I'm double concentrating in CS and Music. I love to take photos, play the piano, and (badly) play soccer.

UTA Nicole Cheng

Nicole Cheng (ncheng2)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: New York City

What dessert she'd be: tiramisu!

Hello! I'm a senior studying CS and Economics. I love all things music and I am really good at binging TV series!

UTA Niyoshi Parekh

Niyoshi Parekh (nparekh1)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Mumbai, India

What dessert she'd be: Tiramisu

There's so much to learn in CS and even as a TA, I'm excited about what this course will teach me. I love cooking, sketching, reading and napping in Prospect Park and got addicted to boba over the summer.

UTA Pedro Borges

Pedro Monteiro Borges (pmontei1)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Boston, MA

What dessert he'd be: A lava cake

Hey guys, I'm a sophomore studying CS, and I'm really excited to TA this semester! Whenever I have free time, I like to study Japanese, watch YouTube videos, and keep up with the NBA.

UTA Peter Zubiago

Peter Zubiago (pzubiago)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: East Greenwich, RI

What dessert he'd be: mint ice cream

Hello! I've lived in Rhode Island my whole life and am double concentrating in English and Computer Science. When I'm not reading novels or writing code, you can find me watching TV, learning a new language, or swimming!

UTA Rohan Gupta

Rohan Gupta (rgupta33)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Hollidaysburg, PA

What dessert he'd be: a cookies & cream milkshake

Hi! I'm a junior concentrating in APMA and (maybe) CS, and I'm part of Badmaash and Club Tennis. I enjoy tennis and football, and I love summer weather. This past summer, I started cooking a little bit, and I make a mean marinara with spaghetti. Also, I love fruits - especially mangoes, kiwis, and watermelon.

UTA Ryan Simpson

Ryan Simpson (rsimpso2)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Orange County, CA

What dessert he'd be: One of those Toll House ice cream sandwiches with the two chocolate chip cookies and the vanilla ice cream fill

I grew up in Southern California. I’m a sophomore concentrating in Computer Science. I spend my free time watching movies and playing guitar.

UTA Ronald Yuan

Ronald Yuan (ryuan2)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Hoover, AL

What dessert he'd be: Pudding! According to Buzzfeed at least, science!

Hey! I'm a sophomore from Birmingham, Alabama. I took CS111 last year and loved the class, so I'm back here this year! Previously, I've fenced for Brown, but I'm taking up cycling to enjoy the outdoors. I also appreciate a good podcast or a long politic-icky article.

ETA Shira Abramovich

Shira Abramovich (sabramo1)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Newton, MA

What dessert she'd be: a stone fruit tart

Hi! I'm a senior studying CS and Comparative Literature, or as I like to call them, Comp^2. I'm also a Health and Wellness Advocate in the CS department, so feel free to come ask me about wellness and accessibility resources! Some of my favorite ways to relax are barista-ing (at the Underground), going for long walks, and eating good bread.

UTA Sol Boukman

Sol Boukman (sboukman)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Camden, NJ

What dessert he'd be: S'mores Crepe

I am from New Jersey, however I am a citizen of Antigua and Barbuda and the United States. The first time I ever wrote code was my second semester at Brown. For fun I like playing basketball, videogames, skateboarding, and gardening.

UTA Yash Gotmare

Yash Gotmare (sgotmare)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Mumbai, India

What dessert he'd be: Raita

I'm from Mumbai, India. I really enjoy playing the guitar, listening to The Smashing Pumpkins and trying new kinds of Biryani :) When I started coding, I really enjoyed the a-ha moments I had and I hope I can share these with you all.

UTA Samika Kanekar

Samika Kanekar (skanekar)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Hershey, PA

What dessert he'd be: Swedish Fish Rita's Italian Ice

I'm a rising senior and an APMA - Bio concentrator from Chocolatetown, USA. I'm a big fan of eating overnight oats at the V-Dub and playing basketball at the OMAC, both with a mask on of course. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions about taking CS classes as a non-concentrator!

UTA Sophia Tu

Sophia Tu (stu7)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Westchester, NY

What dessert she'd be: Tiramisu

I live in Westchester, New York. I recently switched to CS from premed/engineering. I enjoy drawing, consuming media, and walking my dog.

UTA Tanushri Sundar

Tanushri Sundar (tsundar)

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Fremont, CA

What dessert she'd be: Pecan Pie

Hi! I am a senior concentrating in computer science and cognitive science. I am from the Bay Area, and I love to paint. My favorite grocery store is Trader Joe's.

UTA Timmy Wang

Timmy Wang (twang110)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Seattle, WA

What dessert he'd be: carrot cake

Hello! I'm a sophomore considering a concentration in computational biology. I'm part of Brown's Ballroom Dance Team and I enjoy running, music, and watching films/TV shows.

UTA Will Buerger

Will Buerger (wbuerger)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

What dessert he'd be: Easy question - Peanut Butter Pie

Hi hi! I'm Will, and I'm a junior studying CS from Pittsburgh, PA. Outside of TA-ing I'm involved with theatre on campus and give tours. In my free time, I love yoga, board games, and anything with peanut butter!

UTA Zach Love

Zach Love (zlove)

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Hometown: Fort Lee, NJ

What dessert he'd be: Ice Cream

I am from New York and New Jersey and I am undecided for my concentration. I'm a fun guy and a huge Chicago sports fan. Some of my favorite activities are listening to music and catching z's.