Kanellakis Fellowships

Brown University offers two special graduate fellowships that were established in memory of Paris Kanellakis, a Brown computer science faculty member who died in a tragic plane accident on December 20, 1995. A special web page is maintained at Brown as a memorial to Paris and his family. The Kanellakis fellowships are the result of a generous donation from General and Mrs. Kanellakis, Paris' father and mother. They are awarded to students accepted into the PhD program in computer science. In keeping with the wishes of General and Mrs. Kanellakis, we prefer to award these fellowships to students from Greece whenever possible.

The Kanellakis family also made a donation to MIT, where Paris received his PhD in computer science, to support graduate student fellowships. A web page describes the MIT program.

Previous Kanellakis Fellowship Recipients


Alessio Mazzetto

Victor Youdom Kemmoe


Neophytos Christou

Yingjie Xue


Marilyn George

Lilika Markatou


Lilika Markatou

Yingjie Xue


Lilika Markatou

Maria Loukidi-Papanikoli

Jasper Lee


Enrique Areyan Viqueira
Johannes Novotny
Leonhard Spiegelberg

2017-18  Apoorvaa Deshpande
Johannes Novotny
Fumeng Yang
2016-17 Evgenios Kornaropoulos
Ahmad Mahmoody
2015-16 Evgenios Kornaropoulos
Ahmad Mahmoody
Alexandra Papoutsaki
2014-15 Hammurabi Mendes
Esha Ghosh
2013-14 Foteini Baldimtsi
Irina Calciu
2012-13  Michail Michailidis
Evgenios Kornaropoulos
2011-12  Alexandra Papoutsaki
2010-11  Arjun Guha
Charalampos Papamanthou
Shay Mozes (summer)
Olga Ohrimenko (summer)
2009-10  Foteini Baldimtsi
Aggeliki Tsoli
Shay Mozes (summer)
Warren Schudy (summer)
2008-9  Charalampos Papamanthou
Aggeliki Tsoli
2007-8  Charalampos Papamanthou
Aggeliki Tsoli
2006-7  Daniel Acevedo Feliz
Glencora L. Borradaile
Eric Ely Rachlin
2005-6  Aris Anagnostopoulos
2004-5  Aris Anagnostopoulos
Tomer Moscovich
Nikos Triandopoulos
Yannis Vergados
2003-4  Christos Amanatidis
Alexandru Balan
2002-3  Olga Papaemmanouil
2001-2  Aris Anagnostopoulos
Nikos Triandopoulos
2000-1  Aris Anagnostopoulos
Nikos Triandopoulos
1999-0  Costas Busch
Emmanuel Manos Renieris
Ioannis Tsochantaridis
1998-9  Ioannis Tsochantaridis
1997-8  Emmanuel Manos Renieris

More Information

Recipients of Kanellakis Fellowships are chosen by a committee of the faculty. For more information, contact Prof. Maurice Herlihy.