Certified link-rot free as of 25 Jun 1998

If you have updates for this page---especially if you aren't on this page, but should be---please email the maintainer, dpb@cs.brown.edu.

People working in AI at Brown

Faculty Postdocs Graduate students Undergraduate students Alumni


Faculty

Michael Black
black@cs.brown.edu
Computer vision and image sequence analysis.
Optical flow estimation.
Human motion estimation and recognition: facial expressions and gestures.
Robust statistics and probabilistic methods.

Eugene Charniak
ec@cs.brown.edu
Statistical Language Processing
Learning Context-Free Grammars from Corpora
Semantic Processing from Statistical Data
Syntactic Disambiguation using Word-Level Statistics

Tom Dean
tld@cs.brown.edu
Decision-Theoretic Control of Inference
Planning Under Uncertainty and Markov Decision Processes
Learning Dynamical Systems for Planning and Control

Amy Greenwald
amygreen@cs.brown.edu
Game-theoretic learning and economic models of Internet agent interactions. Select topics: comparison shopping, web auctions, automated negotiation.

Pascal van Hentenryck
pvh@cs.brown.edu
Combinatorial Optimization, Constraint Programming
Programming Languages, Abstract Interpretation
Artificial Intelligence, Constraint Satisfaction
Numerical Analysis, Global Optimization

Thomas Hofmann
th@cs.brown.edu
Machine learning and related fields: pattern recognition, statistics, information theory, and neural networks. data analysis, computer vision, robotics, information retrieval, and natural language processing.

Postdocs

Nicolas Meuleau
nm@cs.brown.edu
Milos Hauskrecht
milos@cs.brown.edu

Grad students

Heidi Fox
hjf@cs.brown.edu

Dmitriy Genzel
dg@cs.brown.edu
Keith Hall
kh@cs.brown.edu
Statistical Natural Language Processing; specifically lexical semantics. Anaphoric relationships of noun-phrases (noun-phrase co-reference). Discourse representation models. Unsupervised learning.
Kee-Eung Kim
kek@cs.brown.edu
Sonia Leach
sml@cs.brown.edu
Joel Young
jdy@cs.brown.edu

Undergrads

Aron Holzman
aholzman@cs.brown.edu
Eliot Horowitz
erhorowi@cs.brown.edu

Alumni

and other former CIT residents

Don Blaheta PhD '04
dblaheta@knox.edu
Assistant Professor
Knox College
Galesburg, IL
Sam Heath PhD '03
sah@cs.brown.edu
Luis Ortiz
leo@cs.brown.edu
Leonid Peshkin
ldp@cs.brown.edu
Reinforcement Learning
Planning Under Uncertainty and Markov Decision Processes
Bill Smart
wds@cs.brown.edu
Don Engel ScM '01
donengel@techhouse.brown.edu
pursuing PhD in Physics
UPenn

Mike Benjamin
mrb@cs.brown.edu
Sharon Caraballo PhD '00
caraball@cs.georgetown.edu
Shawn Zeller '00
saz@cs.brown.edu
Niyu Ge PhD '00
nge@cs.brown.edu
Resolution of anaphora (pronouns) from statistical analysis of a corpus
Internal semantic representations
Rick Rhodes ScM '00
rjr@cs.brown.edu
Leslie Kaelbling (Assoc. Prof., left '99)
lpk@ai.mit.edu
Professor of CS and Engineering
MIT
Cambridge, MA

Hagit Shatkay PhD '99
shatkay@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Postdoc
Nat'l Center for Biotech Information
NIH
Bethesda, MD
Matt Berland '99
mb@cs.brown.edu
Sam Hazlehurst '99
seh@cs.brown.edu
Phil Levis '99
pal@cs.brown.edu
Gideon Mann '99
gsm@cs.jhu.edu
Mike O'Neill '99
mpo@cs.brown.edu
Ana-Maria Popescu '99
amp@cs.brown.edu
Kevin Sikorski '99
ks@cs.brown.edu
Machine learning, robot navigation and object recognition. Building accurate maps and using them for safe navigation.
Dave Jackson ScM '98
dej@cs.brown.edu
Chris Cantor
cc@cs.brown.edu
Program Analyst
Yale University
New Haven, CT
Mike Demmer '98
mjd@cs.brown.edu
Tera Computer Co.
Seattle, WA
Jody Fanto
jrf@cs.brown.edu
Sarah Finney '97?
IS Robotics
Boston, MA
Dan Gillmor '98
dkg@cs.brown.edu
Sharon Goldwater '98
sharon_goldwater@brown.edu
pursuing PhD in Linguistics
Brown University
John Hale '98
jthale@msu.edu
Assistant Professor
Michigan State University
Jason Lango '98
jal@cs.brown.edu
Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Mountain View, CA
Elliott Winard '97?
enw@innocent.edu
Michael Littman
mlittman@cs.duke.edu
Duke University
Durham, NC
Shieu-Hong Lin
Logos Evangelical Seminary
El Monte, CA
Tony Cassandra PhD '97
cassandra@mcc.com
Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation
Austin, TX
Moises Lejter
Glenn Carroll
University of Stuttgart
Stuttgart, Germany
Kate Sanders
University of Maryland
College Park, MD

Ted Camus PhD '95
tcamus@sarnoff.com
Sarnoff Corporation
Princeton, NJ
Mark Boddy
Honeywell
Ken Basye
kbasye@black.clarku.edu
Clark University
Worcester, MA
Solomon Shimony PhD '92
shimony@cs.bgu.ac.il
Researching probabilistic reasoning
Ben-Gurion University
Beer-Sheva, Israel

[Brown] [Brown CS] [Research] [AI]

Don Blaheta / dpb@cs.brown.edu