Assignments

Due Dates and Turning in Homework

All assignments are due at 12:00 pm noon. Written homeworks are to be submitted to Gradescope. Programming homeworks are to be submitted via department machine handin scripts

Late Policy

The late-day policy described here applies to all late days other than those due to illness and religious holidays. Thus days missed because of job interviews are included in the late-day policy. Everyone is allowed a total of four late days on homework free of charge, but no more than three late days may be applied to any one homework assignment. Beyond that, you will be penalized 25 percentage points for each day it is late. We will apply late days to assignments in an optimal fashion. If you are ill, you may get an extension without using late days provided you get a note from either health services or the office of student life and contact the instructor. If you must miss an assignment deadline because of a religious holiday, you may also get an extension without using late days; please contact one of the instructors.

Schedules


# Out Due Description Handout Solutions
1 Thursday, Jan 21 Thursday, Jan 28 Review, Python handout + code solutions
2 Thursday, Jan 28 Thursday, Feb 4 Halfspaces, Linear and Polynomial Regression handout solutions
3 Thursday, Feb 4 Thursday, Feb 11 Logistic Regression handout solutions
4 Thursday, Feb 11 Thursday, Feb 18 PAC Learning and the Bias-Complexity Tradeoff handout solutions
5 Thursday, Feb 18 Thursday, Feb 25 Model Selection, Validation, and Regularization handout solutions
6 Thursday, Feb 25 Thursday, Mar 4 Boosting and Decision Trees handout solutions
7 Thursday, Mar 4 Thursday, Mar 11 Uniform Convergence and VC Dimension handout solutions
8 Thursday, Mar 11 Thursday, Mar 18 Naive Bayes and Fairness handout solutions
9 Thursday, Mar 18 Thursday, Mar 25 SVM and Kernels handout solutions
10 Thursday, Mar 25 Tuesday, Apr 6 (5pm EST) Neural Networks handout solutions
11 Thursday, Apr 1 Monday, Apr 12 Clustering handout solutions