CSCI 1460 : Introduction to Computational Linguistics

CSCI 1460 is taught by Professor Eugene Charniak (ec).
Lectures are held every Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 2:00 to 2:50PM in Smitty-B 106.

To contact the TAs, please email cs1460tas@lists.brown.edu

Assignments

Out Due
Warmup (/course/cs1460/asgn/counts) Wed, Jan 25th Mon, Jan 30th @ 11:59 PM
Language Modeling (/course/cs1460/asgn/langmod)
Revised Programming Assignment (do this instead of section 1.8 in the reading)
Fri, Jan 27th HW: Fri, Feb 3rd @ 11:59 PM
Proj: Mon, Feb 6th @ 11:59 PM
Machine Translation (/course/cs1460/asgn/mt) Fri, Feb 3rd HW: Wed, Feb 22nd @ 11:59 PM
Proj: Mon, Feb 27th @ 11:59 PM
Part of Speech Tagging (/course/cs1460/asgn/pos) Wed, Feb 22nd HW: Wed, Mar 8th @ 11:59 PM
Proj: Mon, Mar 13th @ 11:59 PM
Parsing (/course/cs1460/asgn/parsing) Wed, Mar 8th HW: Wed, Mar 22nd @ 11:59 PM
Proj: Friday, Apr 7th @ 11:59 PM
Topic Modeling (/course/cs1460/asgn/topicmod) Wed, Mar 22nd HW: Wed, Apr 12 @ 11:59 PM
Proj: Mon, Apr 17th @ 11:59 PM
Deep MNIST Classification (/course/cs1460/asgn/mnist)
MNIST assignment here
Wed, Apr 12th Proj: Mon, Apr 24th @ 11:59 PM
Deep Language Modeling (TBA) No project

Lectures

Date Topic Announcements
Wed, 25th Jan Introduction Out: warmup
Fri, 27th Jan Language Modeling - Introduction Out: hw1, langmod
Mon, 30th Jan Language Modeling Due: warmup @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 1st Feb Language Modeling - Conclusion
Fri, 3rd Feb Machine Translation - Introduction Due: hw1 @ 11:59 PM
Out: hw2, mt
Mon, 6th Feb Machine Translation - EM Algorithm Due: langmod @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 8th Feb Machine Translation - EM Algorithm
Fri, 10th Feb Machine Translation
Mon, 13th Feb Machine Translation
Wed, 15th Feb Machine Translation
Fri, 17th Feb Machine Translation - Conclusion
Mon, 20th Feb Long Weekend - No Lecture!
Wed, 22nd Feb Part of Speech Tagging - Introduction Due: hw2 @ 11:59 PM
Out: hw3, pos
Fri, 24th Feb Part of Speech Tagging
Mon, 27th Feb Part of Speech Tagging Due: mt @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 1st Mar Part of Speech Tagging
Fri, 3rd Mar Part of Speech Tagging
Mon, 6th Mar Part of Speech Tagging - Conclusion
Wed, 8th Mar Parsing - Introduction Due: hw3 @ 11:59 PM
Out: hw4, parsing
Fri, 10th Mar Parsing
Mon, 13th Mar Parsing Due: pos @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 15th Mar Parsing
Fri, 17th Mar Parsing
Mon, 20th Mar Parsing - Conclusion
Wed, 22nd Mar Topic Modeling - Introduction Due: hw4 @ 11:59 PM
Out: hw5, topicmod
Fri, 24th Mar Topic Modeling
Mon, 27th Mar Spring Break - No Lecture
Wed, 29th Mar Spring Break - No Lecture
Fri, 31st Mar Spring Break - No Lecture
Mon, 3rd Apr Topic Modeling - Conclusion
Wed, 5th Apr Deep Language Modeling - Introduction
Fri, 7th Apr Deep Language Modeling Due: parsing @ 11:59 PM
Mon, 10th Apr Deep Language Modeling
Wed, 12th Apr Deep Language Modeling Due: hw5 @ 11:59 PM
Out:mnist
Fri, 14th Apr Deep Language Modeling - Conclusion
Mon, 17th Apr Deep Parsing - Introduction Due: topicmod @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 19th Apr Deep Parsing
Fri, 21st Apr Deep Parsing
Mon, 24th Apr Deep Parsing - Conclusion Due: mnist @ 11:59 PM
Wed, 26th Apr SLACK DAY
Fri, 28th Apr SLACK DAY
Mon, 1st May SLACK DAY
Wed, 3rd May SLACK DAY
Fri, 5th May SLACK DAY

TA Hours

Name Login Hours Location
Eugene Charniak (Professor) ec By Appointment CIT 419
Sidd Karamcheti (HTA) skaramch Wednesdays, 12 - 2 PM CIT 205
Arun Drelich adrelich Fridays, 4 - 6 PM CIT 205
Beverly Tai btai Mondays, 5 - 7 PM Motorola (CIT 165)
Nick McKenna nmckenna Tuesdays, 5 - 7 PM Motorola (CIT 165)
Raphael Kargon rkargon Thursdays, 5 - 7 PM Motorola (CIT 165)